Steering Committee

Steering Committee Members

Term end years included in parentheses. Three new members join committee each year. New members serve three-year term.

  • Rob Capra, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA (Chair) (until 2020)
  • Nils Pharo, Oslo Metro. Univ. (until 2020)
  • Dan Russell, Google (until 2020)
  • Chirag Shah, Rutgers University, USA (until 2021)
  • Vivien Petras, Humbolt Univ. (term until 2021)
  • Soo Young Rieh, Univ. of Michigan (until 2021)
  • Max L. Wilson, Univ. of Nottingham (until 2021)
  • Martin Halvey, Univ. of Strathclyde (until 2022)
  • Jaap Kamps, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands (SIGIR Representative)

Past Steering Committee Members

  • Nick Belkin, Rutgers University, USA (2014 - 2017)
  • Ryen White, Microsoft Research, USA (2014-2017)
  • Peter Ingwersen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark (2014-2017)
  • Marti Hearst, University of California at Berkeley, USA (2014-2017)
  • Ian Ruthven, University of Strathclyde, UK (2014-2016)
  • Katriina Byström, Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences, Norway & University of Borås, Sweden (2015-2018)
  • Gary Marchionini, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA (2015-2018)
  • Catherine Smith, Kent State University, USA (2015-2018)
  • Luanne Freund, University of British Columbia, Canada (2016-2019)